Tok And Extended Essay Matrix

Diploma Failing Conditions 


A candidate will not qualify for the award of the diploma if certain requirements have not been met.

 The following codes indicate which requirements have not been met.


  1. CAS requirements have not been met.
  2. Candidate’s total points are fewer than 24.
  3. An “N” has been given for theory of knowledge, extended essay or for a contributing subject.
  4. A grade E has been awarded for one or both of theory of knowledge and the extended essay.
  5. There is a grade 1 awarded in a subject/level.
  6. Grade 2 has been awarded three or more times (HL or SL).
  7. Grade 3 or below has been awarded four or more times (HL or SL).
  8. Candidate has gained fewer than 12 points on HL subjects (for candidates who register for four HL subjects, the three highest grades count).
  9. Candidate has gained fewer than 9 points on SL subjects (candidates who register for two SL subjects must gain at least 5 points at SL).


 Diploma Points Matrix 



The Core is required and includes the CAS program, Theory of Knowledge and the Extended Essay.  The Extended Essay and Theory of Knowledge are marked based on letter grades and are crossed on the matrix below to provide a combined point score of up to 3 points.  Incomplete CAS programs or inadequate work on the Extended Essay or in Theory of Knowledge will result in the failure of the IB Diploma.  In the case of a student receiving an E in either the Extended Essay or TOK, he/she is required to earn a minimum of 28 points (rather than 24) in order to receive the IB Diploma.


The IB Matrix is used to determine the number of points earned from TOK and the EE:





The maximum number of points a student can earn is 45.  (7 x 6 subjects = 42 + 3 from EE/TOK).  




TOK/EE Matrix

Extended Essay and Theory of Knowledge Assessment

What is Extended Essay (EE)?

The extended essay of approximately 4,000 words offers the opportunity for IB students to investigate a topic of special interest, usually one of the student’s six Diploma Programme subjects, and acquaints them with the independent research and writing skills expected at university. It is intended to promote high-level research and writing skills, intellectual discovery and creativity—resulting in approximately 40 hours of work. It provides students with an opportunity to engage in personal research on a topic of choice, under the guidance of a supervisor. © International Baccalaureate Organization 2010

What is Theory of Knowledge (TOK)?

The interdisciplinary theory of knowledge course is designed to develop a coherent approach to learning that transcends and unifies the academic areas and encourages appreciation of other cultural perspectives.

The theory of knowledge course is in part intended to encourage students to reflect on the huge cultural shifts worldwide around the digital revolution and the information economy. The extent and impact of the changes vary greatly in different parts of the world, but everywhere their implications for knowledge are profound. Theory of knowledge encourages critical thinking about knowledge itself and aims to help young people make sense of what they encounter. Its core content focuses on questions such as the following.

  • What counts as knowledge?
  • How does it grow?
  • What are its limits?
  • Who owns knowledge?
  • What is the value of knowledge?
  • What are the implications of having, or not having, knowledge

© International Baccalaureate Organization 2010

How are these subjects Evaluated?

Letter grades are awarded for the Extended Essay and Theory of Knowledge based on achievement against published criteria.

The standards are:

A - Work of an excellent standard
- Work of a good standard
- Work of a satisfactory standard
- Work of a mediocre standard
- Work of an elementary standard

These grades are combined according to the matrix below to give the student a maximum of 3 points.

The Diploma Points Matrix


If a student gains an “E” in either component 28 points overall will be required to pass the IB Diploma (not 24 points as is usual). A grade “A” in one of the components earns an extra point even if the other is a grade “E”. An “E” grade in both the Extended Essay and Theory of Knowledge means an automatic failure of the IB Diploma.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *